I was misunderstood for sure

Nymph of a cockroach
Image via Wikipedia

**************************************************************

Most of our self-talk comes unconsciously from our subconscious. Yet every thought that exists in our subconscious got there through a conscious decision to accept that thought.

We need to become conscious of our self-talk so we can at will choose to replace negative beliefs with positive ones. We have the power to choose an identity we love, but we need to do the work. The process of changing our subconscious beliefs requires awareness, diligence, consistency and repetition.

“Man is made or unmade by himself. In the armory of thought he forges the weapons by which he destroys himself. He also fashions the tools with which he builds for himself heavenly mansions of joy and strength and peace.”

— James Allen

Awareness is the key to all change. Begin to trust yourself more deeply as you uncover new dimensions of who you are.

**************************************************************

It was yet another beautiful morning,  the sun had tirelessly smiled again.  I had a long day of hardwork to go, and i occupied my seat(often called the server seat) to give it a quick start. I wasnot expecting a good morning from my Testing colleagues because there wasnt any for me. But the lifeless computer was much more sincere and dependable, it displayed a good morning message as it had being doing for the past 3 years.  I could not but show my acknowledgement through a blush smile.  An email was the quote of the day, it said “An intelligent person responds: A fool reacts“. The body of the email was a very short story.

Three women met at a restaurant. yeah you can guess?? lotta discussions exchange of news and views… loads of  information. One particular of them caught my attention…one of the ladies with a lot of interests was sharing some interesting facts about cockroaches. with a lot of amazement she was telling how a cockroach can run 3 miles per hour and can change directions 25 times per second.

A cockroach could live a long time, perhaps a week, without its head. There was non stop excitement in her voice as she continued saying, ” A cockroach has amazing adaptability. It can survive in any climate, in any house condition, inside any crack etc. Its antennae, which rivals NASA’s Global Positioning system, helps it to locate other cockroaches with state of the art precision. Cockroaches could be used to place surveillance devices in military installations. In fact, a cockroach can even survive an attack of atomic explosion.”It sounded to me as if the entire restaurant had watched a quick documentary on cockroaches and their survival on discovery.  Cockroaches flew in my mind.

Suddenly, a cockroach flew from nowhere and sat on her. hmm … I wondered if this was the cockroach’s response to all the glory that was spoken about it!  “They are ‘Animals with instinct’,”, I imagined.

And guess what? Unbelievable…. She started screaming out of fear. With panic-stricken face and trembling voice, she started doing stationary jumping, with both her hands desperately trying to get rid off the cockroach.  Her reaction was contagious,as everyone in her group got cranky to what was happening. The lady finally manged to push the cockroach on to another lady in the group. Now it was the turn of the other lady to continue the drama. THe waiter rushed forward to their rescue. In the relay of throwing, the cockroach next fell upon the waiter. When he was confident enough, he grabbed it with his fingers and threw it out.

Sipping my coffee and watching the amusement, the antenna of my mind picked up a few thoughts and started wondering. “was the cockroach responsible for their histrionic behaviour? If so, then why the waiter was not perturbed? He handled it to near perfection, without any chaos.

It’s not the cockroach, but the inability of the ladies to handle the disturbance caused by the cockroach that disturbed the ladies.”

“we all are like the cockroaches, people may say good about us, or we may think so. But the reality is when it comes to things,  we are what we are and how we are.”

I realised, “Even in my case then, it is not the shouting of my father or my boss that disturbs me, but it is my inability to handle the disturbance that disturbs me. It is not the traffic jam on the road that disturbs me, but it is my inability to handle the disturbance that disturbs me. In all, it is not something that disturbs me but its my inability to handle the disturbance caused by the disturbance that disturbs me. More than the problem, it is my reaction to the problem that hurts me.”

True …

A natural question popped up in my mind, “Then how do I outgrow this limitation?”

I understood,”I should not react. I should always respond.The women reacted, whereas the waiter responded. Reactions are always instinctive, whereas responses are intellectual. Between the stimuli(what happens through me) and the response(what happens to me) if there is no gap, it creates reaction. But between the stimuli and the response, if i use the gap to think and contemplate, then i can respond thoughtfully.

An intelligent person responds: a fool reacts.”

 

Author: apboss

I love to share and experiment with words, words for me are like olfactory senses, they wake me up in a garden of experiences, SOUL meets me

1 thought on “I was misunderstood for sure”

  1. cool 1 bro….its simple,gentle way of writing bt strong enuf 2 convey a gud msg….gr8 work bhaiyya….welcome back…

Leave a Reply

